CF3 beta vs alpha version

If you're having trouble using Context Free or don't understand the language, ask for help here.

Moderators: MtnViewJohn, chris, mtnviewmark

Post Reply
User avatar
DeFleur
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 7:49 am
Location: Switzerland

CF3 beta vs alpha version

Post by DeFleur »

I downloaded the CF3beta version and my question is why is

Code: Select all

startshape SINO
M=4
path SINO {
loop j=(360*M) [ ]
LINETO(j, 100*((sin(j*4))+sin(1.1*j*4)))
STROKE [width 10 b -1 ] 
}
only working for M max 4 and not working for M bigger 5 in CF3.0_beta whereas it was no problem in alpha version ?
Appreciate your notes.
kind regards from DeFleur

User avatar
MtnViewJohn
Site Admin
Posts: 882
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 2:26 pm
Location: Mountain View, California
Contact:

Re: CF3 beta vs alpha version

Post by MtnViewJohn »

CF3beta is confused about how big the path is. It thinks that the path is tiny and skips drawing it. If you change the minimum size parameter you can get CF3beta to draw your shape:

Code: Select all

startshape SINO
CF::MinimumSize = 0.01
M=9
path SINO {
    MOVETO(0,0)    // Don't forget the initial MOVETO!
    loop j=1, 360*M [ ]
        LINETO(j, 100*((sin(j*4))+sin(1.1*j*4)))
    STROKE(10) [b -1 ]    // This is how you set stroke width
}
I will figure out why CF3beta doesn't understand how big the shape is.

User avatar
DeFleur
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 7:49 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: CF3 beta vs alpha version

Post by DeFleur »

Happy to report that the updated code works well now.
I also have to mention that even with a re-installed alpha version
the original code does not work anymore though it once did
with a derivative (jpeg display file existing). So it doesn't seem
to be a real alpha/beta version issue but something else.
kind regards from DeFleur

Post Reply